Kansas - The Prelude Implicit (english version)
4.3TOP 2016

Sixteen years have elapsed between “Somewhere to Elsewhere” and “The Prelude Implicit”, the fifteenth album of Kansas. If we will not revisit the career of the this successful band created in 1973, it should be noted that Kansas remains one of the most influential group of the 70s… and one of the most successful too with more than 30 million records sold.

After all these years, all this history, the idea of a new stage in their history could legitimately leave doubtful, especially after the departure of Steve Walsh two years ago. So, if there is only Rich Williams (guitar) and Phil Ehart (drums) as founding members, the first impression of this new record is a straight return to the seventies style with that typical sound which made all the charm of Kansas. A bunch of bright melodies with musicians who never try to do too much, “The Prelude Implicit” prefers the great harmonies ( “Rhythm of the Spirit“) to simple sound flood. Ronnie Platt delivers a great job and David Ragsdale’s violin is always there to vibrate with an inner beauty (“Refugee“).

If it is not a revolution, we must recognize the success of this album. Even with the eight minutes of “The Voyage of Eight Eighteen“, Kansas stays on top, without forcing anything, with cool rhythms, crunchy accents and a constant sense of seduction. These small ten songs carefully crafted show us that the band has not lost its talent (“Summer“, “Crowed Isolation“). Kansas finds here many sweet, lush and nostalgic atmospheres but “The Prelude Implicit” is more than that. It offers a dust bowl, a hot little wind and the proof that the true alchemy of Kansas‘s music remains alive.

Read the review in french version


Kansas - The Prelude Implicit (2016)

Title: The Prelude Implicit
Band: Kansas

Year: 2016
Country: États-Unis
Time: 53’26
Label : InsideOut


1. With This Heart
2. Visibility Zero
3. The Unsung Heroes
4. Rhythm in the Spirit
5. Refugee
6. The Voyage of Eight Eighteen
7. Camouflage
8. Summer
9. Crowded Isolation
10. Section 60


– Phil Ehart / Drums, Percussion
– Billy Greer / Bass, Vocals
– David Manion / Keyboards
– Ronnie Platt / Lead Vocals, Keyboards
– David Ragsdale / Violin, Vocals
– Rich Williams / Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar
– Zak Rizvi / Electric Guitar

Votre avis

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.